Merlin – Series 1 Volume 1 [DVD]


Price: £8.98
(as of Jun 06,2023 05:43:06 UTC – Details)

Merlin, the BBC’s outstanding re-imagining of the Arthurian legend, comes to DVD in this 3 disc set containing six episodes plus a superb package of bonus features: ‘Behind the Magic’ feature, cast video diaries, audio commentaries and more. Set in the mythical city of Camelot, in a time before history began, this magical adaptation of the Arthurian legend follows Merlin’s early adventures in the court of King Uther… and his enthralling encounters with the young Prince Arthur… The Kingdom of Camelot is a realm of legendary beasts and mysterious peoples. In this dangerous world, magic has been banned by the ruthless tyrant, Uther Pendragon. Merlin, a young man gifted with extraordinary powers, arrives at the gates of the city. Though bright-eyed with wonder, the young sorcerer quickly makes enemies, including the headstrong Prince Arthur. Guided by Gaius, the wise court physician, Merlin is soon using his talents to secretly defend the Kingdom and unlock Camelot’s mystical secrets. Soon he discovers that his destiny and that of Arthur, the future King, are inextricably linked. Starring Colin Morgan, Bradley James, Anthony Head, Richard Wilson, Katie McGrath and Angel Coulby ‘Episode One’
Merlin, a young country boy, arrives at the great city of Camelot just in time to witness an execution – the result of King Uther outlawing magic in his kingdom. As Merlin makes his way to find Gaius, the Court Physician, he begins to realise that the world he has entered is full of danger.
Episode Two
Valiant arrives in Camelot intent on winning its renowned sword tournament. As a disgruntled Merlin gets to grips with his arduous duties as Arthur’s new servant, he notices the fighter has an unfair advantage. And, though Arthur is not exactly impressed with Merlin’s talents, he might just need his help before taking on Valiant in the final…
Episode Three
As a magical plague brings death to Camelot, Merlin takes pity on Gwen, whose father is dying of the disease. Evading a curfew, Merlin risks his life by using magic to cure her father. However, his delight soon turns to shock as Gwen is arrested for sorcery…
Episode Four
A mysterious servant girl tells Merlin that Arthur is about to be poisoned. Merlin seizes Arthur’s cup and drinks it himself. He falls into a coma and can only be saved from certain death by a flower that grows deep within the forest of Balor. Arthur is ready to defy the King and embark on the quest, but is he prepared for the trials and danger he will encounter?
Episode Five
A great fighter by the name of Lancelot arrives in Camelot but, despite his bravery and skill, his ambition to be a knight is thwarted by his low birth – only Arthur and Merlin appear to recognise his true worth. Meanwhile a terrifying winged beast approaches Camelot leaving the kingdom in desperate need of a hero…
Episode Six
When a new physician, the scarred Edwin, saves Morgana from a mysterious illness, Uther is impressed by his skills. Soon, Edwin is supplanting Gaius’s position in the court. But Gaius makes a shocking discovery about this mysterious stranger. Can a weak old man and his young apprentice prevent Edwin from committing the ultimate crime?

Aspect Ratio ‏ : ‎ 16:9 – 1.78:1
Is discontinued by manufacturer ‏ : ‎ No
Language ‏ : ‎ English
Package Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 19 x 14.2 x 2.2 cm; 222.26 Grams
Manufacturer reference ‏ : ‎ 5051561028311
Media Format ‏ : ‎ PAL
Run time ‏ : ‎ 4 hours and 30 minutes
Release date ‏ : ‎ 24 Nov. 2008
Actors ‏ : ‎ Colin Morgan, Bradley James, Anthony Head, Richard Wilson, Katie McGrath
Studio ‏ : ‎ 2 Entertain
ASIN ‏ : ‎ B001F3QJL0
Writers ‏ : ‎ Julian Jones
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 3


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Merlin – Series 1 Volume 1 [DVD]”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button